Place chart

Where does Boba Fett take place in the Star Wars timeline?

When does The Book of Boba Fett take place in the Star Wars timeline? This is a question we’ve been asking ever since a certain person appeared…before we delve into the exact identity of that person, we should point out that we’re going into spoilers for every episode of The Book of Boba Fet, up to episode six.

Now that you’ve been warned, we can see how The Mandalorian and The Book of Boba Fett both work on the Star Wars timeline because, yes, it was really Din Djarin but without Baby Yoda, AKA Grogu. This places The Book of Boba Fett directly after The Mandalorian Season 2 finale, but before Star Wars: The Force Awakens.

Boba Fett’s book timeline has given way to a few cameos, and there are still plenty of characters in that galaxy, far, far away who could appear in the show. This guide will tell you what cameos might follow. Plus, given the large number of upcoming Star Wars movies and shows, knowing when The Boba Fett Book will help you understand the future of the franchise.

When does The Book of Boba Fett take place in the Star Wars timeline?

Boba Fett's Book

(Image credit: Lucasfilm)

Before we get started, let’s quickly establish how the Star Wars timeline works. The timeline revolves around the Battle of Yavin – otherwise known as the first assault on the Death Star in A New Hope. This refers to 0 BBY, before the Battle of Yavin, while subsequent years are ANY, after the Battle of Yavin.

The Book of Boba Fett is set alongside The Mandaloirna in 9 ABY – nine years after A New Hope and five years after the Emperor’s defeat in Return of the Jedi. Here’s the full picture of where Boba Fett’s book takes place in the Star Wars timeline – according to current canon.

  • Star Wars: The Phantom Menace – 32 BBY
  • Star Wars: Attack of the Clones – 22 BBY
  • The Clone Wars – 22 BBY – 19 BBY
  • Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith – 19 BBY
  • The Bad Batch – 19 BBY
  • Solo: A Star Wars Story – BBY 13 – BBY 10
  • Star Wars Rebels – BBY 5 – BBY 1
  • Rogue One: A Star Wars Story – 1 BBY
  • A New Hope – 0 BBY
  • The Empire Strikes Back – 3 ABY
  • Return of the Jedi – 4 ABY
  • The Mandalorian season 1 and 2 – 9 ABY
  • The Boba Fett Book – 9ABY
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens – 34 ABY
  • Star Wars: The Last Jedi – 34 ABY
  • Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker – 35 ABY

The Boba Fett Book timeline: what does it mean for the series?

Boba Fett's Book

(Image credit: Lucasfilm)

Let’s start with the flashbacks. Boba Fett’s book sees Boba reliving his days stuck in the Sarlacc Pit, which the bounty hunter was eaten by during Return of the Jedi. Boba escapes and is later captured by Tusken Raiders. After his time with them, Boba encounters the bloodthirsty Fennec Shand right after being shot – something that happened in The Mandalorian season 1. How Boba gets his armor back is revealed in The Mandalorian Season 2.

It should be noted that Fennec Shand appeared in Star Wars: The Bad Batch, which took place between Revenge of the Sith (19 BBY) and A New Hope (0 BBY). Her story is further explored in this anime series.

The current timeline of The Book of Boba Fett sees Boba taking over Jabba the Hutt’s former throne in Mos Espa. This is after Jabba’s death in Return of the Jedi, which was followed by Bib Fortuna claiming the throne, only for Boba to return and kill the evil Twi’lek. From there Boba tries to rule Mos Espa but comes to fight the rival Pyke Syndicate – but Boba is not alone. He employs Din Djarin to help him.

While Boba Fett’s Book takes place after the first two seasons of The Mandalorian, Din doesn’t have Baby Yoda, aka Grogu, by his side, having entrusted the youngster to Luke Skywalker. The Mandalorian season 3 can be expected to take place after the events of The Book of Boba Fett.

With The Book of Boba Fett’s flashback-free timeline being 9 BBY, there’s plenty of room for cameos. We’ve seen Mando, but Han Solo and Leia are still alive and might show up. Lando Calrissian is another person still very active, and Ahsoka Tano – seen in The Mandalorian – continues her mission. In other words, there are a variety of characters that could appear in Boba’s story, but it remains to be seen how many of them will make it to Mos Espa. However, this is Anakin Skywalker’s home world, which could potentially set someone back.

And now for the biggest question of all: will there be podracing? We’ve seen Mando fly the podracing circuit outside of Mos Eisley before. Hopefully Sebulba makes an appearance and flies too.

If you haven’t started watching The Book of Boba Fett yet, be sure to check out the latest Disney Plus bundles. Because the Disney Plus free trial no longer exists, this is your best bet if you want to get a Disney Plus sign-up deal for less.