Place chart

Many Schools Place Stars on LSWA All-State Basketball Teams – Crescent City Sports

Written for the LSWA

The high levels of talent and competition from all corners of Louisiana were reflected in this year’s LSWA Class 5A All-State teams.

Seventeen schools achieved either first- or second-team representation, including nine different schools with players in the only boys’ or girls’ first teams.

And the four outstanding awards honored two of the state’s most accomplished and recruited players at any level and two young coaches who groomed their team to peak in time for memorable playoff runs.

Zachary’s senior Jalen Bolden headlined the boys list as MVP for his starring role in the Broncos’ second straight Class 5A title run.

The 6-foot-5 guard averaged 20 points, 10 rebounds and four assists per game in his second straight all-state campaign, including District 4-5A, Class 5A Championship and LHSAA MVP Tournament.

Bolden signed to play collegiately at ULM.

Parkway junior Mikaylah Williams earned the top mark on the girls side as the best player.

The 6-foot-1 guard led his Panthers to a 33-3 record and the program’s first state championship game with his averages of 22.8 points, 8.0 rebounds, 3.7 assists and 2 .2 interceptions.

Williams added the latest award to an already stellar resume that included an MVP performance and a gold medal for the United States at the FIBA ​​3×3 Under-18 World Cup last summer. in Hungary and this year’s Louisiana Gatorade Player of the Year award.

She is also a Naismith Award finalist as the nation’s top high school player and is ranked the top prospect in the 2023 recruiting class by HoopGurlz and

Josh Carlin was selected as Male Coach of the Year after leading Northshore to its first state championship game in his freshman season at the school.

The son of longtime Salmen coach Jay Carlin helped the Panthers go from a 20-13 record and a quarterfinal appearance last year to 28-7 and a second run of class 5A which included three consecutive upsets of higher-ranked opponents: twice on the road and then in the semi-finals of the neutral site state.

Ruston trainer Ryan Bond and John Curtis trainer Bill Lewit also received votes for the award.

Krystal Flowers won Women’s Coach of the Year honors in her second season at the helm of McKinley’s program after a two-year absence.

She led her Panthers to a 19-10 record and the first Division I title game since doing so in 2017 and 2018.

John Curtis coach Temeka Johnson and Ponchatoula coach Patricia Landaiche also received votes.



first team

Player School Ht. Cl Avg.

Jalen Bolden Zachary 6-5 Sr. 20.0

Brandon Rogers Hardy Zachary 6-2 Jr. 16.0

Rayvon Smith Scotlandville 6-1 Sr. 17.1

Kameron Johnson Shaw 5-9 Sr. 20.3

Kohen Rowbatham Northshore 6-3 So. 23.0

second team

Player School Ht. Cl Avg.

Braylan McNeal Ruston 6-5 Jr. 12.0

Dorian Booker Scotlandville 6-10 Jr. 18.3

Sterry Leonard Ouachita 6-0 Sr. 14.0

Warren Young Jr. Walker 6-1 Jr. 19.0

Zach Fenn St. Paul’s 6-2 Sr. 16.9



Honorable mention

Jabbari Barry, Beard; Wayne Randall-Bashay, New Iberia; Christian Walker, New Iberia; Noah Jonker, Alexandria; Dakota Gasca, West Monroe; Jadais Richard, West Monroe; Rashad Davis, Ouachita; Kyron Reed, Captain Shreve; Mar’Quarius Johnson, Southwood; Justin Aaron, Natchitoches Central; Greg Manning, Benton; KJ Allen, Haughton; Laythan Delaney, Haughton; Kylon Harris, East St. John; Bryce Weinmunson, Mandeville; De’Juan Barrow, HL Bourgeois; Jamadrion Lillard, Ruston; Matthew Knight, Jesuit; Rodney Phillips, Shaw; LaRon Louis, John Curtis; Corey Skillman, Brother Martin; Korey Newman, West Jefferson.


first team

Player School Ht. Cl Avg.

Mikaylah Williams Parkway 6-1 Jr. 22.8

Caitlin Travis Walker 5-7 Junior 14.8

Chrysta Narcisse Lafayette 5-8 Jr. 15.1

Jaylee Womack Ponchatoula 5-10 Sr. 28.0

Terren Coffil John Curtis 5-8 So. 15.0

second team

Player School Ht. Cl Avg.

Mikaylah Manley Beard 5-9 Junior 18.3

Jermesha Frierson Southwood 5-6 Jr. 23.0

Ty’Reona Sibley McKinley 5-9 So. 18.5

Pashonnay Johnson West Monroe 5-11 Sr. 17.0

Jasmine Mathews East St. John 5-10 junior 26.0



Honorable mention

Jahniya Brown, Lafayette; Deniya Thornton, St. Amant; Shamiya Butler, West Monroe; Faith Lee, Ouachita; Kennedy Ard, Walker; Taylor Jackson, Ponchatoula; Chloe Larry, Parkway; Enrea Bougere, HL Bourgeois; Jaliyah McWain, Ruston, So; Emerald Parker, Ruston, Jr.; Pic Aryana, Thibodaux