Place residence

Illini finishes fifth at Big Ten Championships

PITTSBURGH, Pennsylvania – The No. 25 Illinois women’s golf team concluded the 2022 Big Ten Championships in fifth place with a par-18 tournament total of 870. The Illini posted a final score of 14 over 298 on Sunday 24 April at the par 71, 6,045 yard Fox Chapel Golf Club.

Senior Crystal Wang was named to the All-Championship Team after finishing in a tie for sixth place with a total of 215 two-man tournaments after earning a six-of-77 carding in her final round.

With Wang, the Illini had three golfers in the top 20 as a senior Kornkamol Sukaree recorded a two-for-73 tied for 12th with a four-for-217 and sophomore Isabelle Sy earned her fifth top 25 of the spring as she tied for 17th with a total of seven of 220. Sy had a six of 77 in her final round on Sunday.

First-year student Alise Knudson posted a career-best result to tie for 24th with a total of eight of 221 after carding three of 74 that day, while junior Siyan Chen tied for 43rd with a tournament total of 226 (+13) and recorded a four of 75 on Sunday. To complete the Illini was freshman Lexanne Halama with a total of 230 (+17) to finish 57th after posting a five out of 76 on his last lap.

Michigan won the Big Ten Championship title with a five-over tournament total of 857, with Wolverines’ Monet Chun earning medalist honors with an eight-under 205 total.

With the conclusion of the Big Ten Championships, the Illini then await their playoff fate until the announcement of the NCAA Championship selection on Wednesday, April 27 at 3:00 p.m. CT on Golf Channel. NCAA Regionals are scheduled for May 9-11.

For more Fighting Illini Women’s Golf news, stay tuned to and follow @IlliniWGolf on social media: Twitter | instagram | Facebook.


Mary Fossum Award Winner: Ashley Lau, Michigan

All-Championship Team:

Crystal WangIllinois
Patricia Mackova, Maryland
Maria Vittoria Corbi, Maryland
Monet Chun, Michigan
Leila Raines, State of Michigan
Kirsten Baete, Nebraska
Jennifer Cai, Northwest
Lauryn Nguyen, North West
Faith Choi, Ohio State
Emily Lauterbach, Wis.